21 Day Fix Meal Plan

I’m closing in on the end of my first round of 21 Day Fix, and I have to say it took me at least half of these 21 days to really get a firm grasp on the meal plan.

And that’s a very generous estimate.

In light of that, I decided to document and share what a day of “Fix eating” looked like for me and my calorie range, which was 1,200-1,499. Since most of the fix approved foods are whole, unprocessed, and “clean” (if you will), it actually ends up being a pretty substantial amount of food. If you do decide to take on the Fix, hopefully this helps ease some concerns that you’re going to be starving and miserable (spoiler alert: you won’t, but I can’t promise you aren’t going to want to inhale all of the chocolate and fried food in sight).

Screen Shot 2015-05-02 at 2.26.26 PM

Please be advised that I am (clearly) NOT a food blogger. These are not beautifully plated, staged, and photographed culinary masterpieces. This is me sitting in my apartment or at work, portioning from my Fix containers to other containers, and doing my best to give you a realistic view of what you could be eating on this plan via my Samsung Galaxy S5.

You can split up your foods however you’d like. I believe Beachbody recommends 6 meals over the course of the day (3 smaller meals and 3 “snacks”). Don’t quote me on that, because frankly I’m too lazy to remove myself from my bed where I am comfortably writing this post and check. Regardless, some people choose to do it this way, I did not. I split my containers across 3 meals and 2 snacks. Do whatever works for you. If you aren’t sure, try both and see how you feel. Everyone’s body reacts differently so please don’t think that one way is better or worse than the other.

Breakfast: Protein Smoothie
-Protein Powder or Shakeology: 1 Red
-Frozen Mixed Berries: 1/2 Purple
-Ground flax meal: 1 Orange

-Coconut Oil: 1 tsp.
-Water

wpid-20150428_075853.jpg Best consumed while lounging in fuzzy slippers and avoiding getting ready to go to work.

Morning Snack: Zucchini, Red Pepper, and Sweet Potato Frittata
-See recipe for full list of ingredients. Basically eggs, veggies, cheese, spices.
-1/2 Red, 1 Green, 1 tsp.
-Also pictured: coffee. “Free” drink, as it should be. Thank God.

Screen Shot 2015-05-02 at 2.43.57 PM
This one is straight from the Beachbody blog. It was really satisfying and fairly easy to make. I discovered the blog recipes in my 3rd week and **highly** recommend using them. They give you the number of servings AND container amounts per serving. Lazy girl approved? Check.

Lunch: Spinach and Chicken Pasta
-Whole wheat pasta: 1 Yellow
-Spinach: 1 Green
-Chicken (poached)*: 1 Red
-Tomato Sauce: 1/2 Purple

Screen Shot 2015-05-02 at 2.43.45 PM

Pretty straightforward. I’m Italian. I love pasta. I like putting veggies in my pasta. I dislike having to portion it into that yellow container when really I want 6 yellow containers worth, but I guess that’s kind of the point…

*I almost always poach my chicken in water with a bunch of different herbs and spices. I like doing it this way for a number of reasons. It doesn’t add additional calories, it’s quick, the clean up is super easy, and if you add enough spices it ends up being delicious. If you detest poached chicken, don’t eat it. This should go without saying, but I have heard stories of so-called fitness professionals insisting that their clients eat certain foods even if that food triggers their gag reflex. At any rate, there are a bunch of ways to cook your chicken – poach, bake, slow cooker, grill, whatever floats your boat. If you hate chicken, change up your protein. This is one of my favorite things about 21 Day Fix. You have OPTIONS.

Afternoon Snack: Apple Baked Oatmeal
-See recipe for full ingredient list
-1 Yellow, 1 Purple, 1/2 Red

wpid-20150427_101117.jpg
Another one from the Beachbody blog. I have to be honest, I found this one to be kind of bland. It didn’t phase me, since I eat plain oatmeal pretty regularly the baked apples added enough sweetness for my taste, but if you are not used to eating this way you may not like this one so much.

Dinner: Pork Carnitas Lettuce Wraps with Cilantro Lime Yogurt Topping
-See recipe for full ingredient list
-1 Green, 1 Red, 1 Blue (add avocado or cheese, your choice for your blue container!)

wpid-img_20150427_210608.jpg
Guys. Make this dinner. Like now. Even if you aren’t on the 21 Day Fix.
This was SO easy and SO good. The recipes calls for tortillas, which would be delicious. I used lettuce wraps because I wanted to save my yellow container for elsewhere, and those were also really good! Do NOT skip the yogurt topping. Seriously. Don’t ask questions, just don’t do it. Also top with Sriracha for obvious reasons.

So there you have it. 4 Red, 3 Green, 2 Purple, 2 Yellow, 1 Orange, 1 Blue, and 2 tsp. Below are some of the other variations I have used over the last 3 weeks because again, options, you have lots of them. I used this free template from The Fitness Focus to plan and it was definitely a huge help in keeping me organized and on track.
Screen Shot 2015-05-02 at 2.04.12 PM

21 Day Fix has been a really positive experience for me so far (and you can trust me, because I’m not a Beachbody coach and really have nothing to gain from posting a positive review), and I’m looking forward to sharing my final results and review next week!

I’m also really looking forward to a cheeseburger.

burger

Leave a Reply

